India’s ODI Squad Changes for the South Africa Series: A Comprehensive Look

India’s ODI Squad Changes for the South Africa Series: A Comprehensive Look

After an enthralling T20I series between India and South Africa, attention now turns to the upcoming three-match ODI series. With some notable changes in the Indian squad, fans are eager to see how the team will fare in the 50-over format. Let’s take a closer look at the complete list of changes in India’s ODI team from the T20I squad for the South Africa series.

Out: T20I Stars Bid Farewell

Several players who featured prominently in the T20I series will not be seen in action during the ODI matches. T20I captain Suryakumar Yadav, openers Shubman Gill and Yashasvi Jaiswal, wicketkeeper-batters Jitesh Sharma and Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Siraj, and the world’s number one T20I bowler Ravi Bishnoi will not be part of the ODI series.

Gill, Jaiswal, Kishan, Jadeja, and Siraj will stay in South Africa as they are also part of the Test squad. However, Suryakumar Yadav, Jitesh Sharma, and Ravi Bishnoi will return to India to prepare for the upcoming Ranji Trophy season and the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan in January 2024.

In: Fresh Faces and Experienced Players

With the absence of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul is set to lead the Indian side in the ODI series. Rahul, who missed the T20I series, will be eager to make an impact and guide the team to victory.

Joining Rahul in the ODI squad are some exciting new additions. Rajat Patidar, a star from Royal Challengers Bangalore, is included in the squad and is yet to make his debut for India. Another young talent, Tamil Nadu batter Sai Sudarshan, has earned his maiden India call-up for the South Africa tour.

All-rounder Axar Patel and pacer Avesh Khan, who were overlooked for the T20Is against South Africa, are back in the ODI squad. Their inclusion adds depth and versatility to the team. Additionally, seasoned campaigners Yuzvendra Chahal and Sanju Samson have also been included for the 50-over matches, bringing their experience and skills to the table.

Retained: A Strong Core

Despite the changes, there are several players from the T20I squad who have retained their place in the ODI team. Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, and Deepak Chahar are the nine players who will continue to represent India in both the T20Is and ODIs.

India’s ODI Squad for the South Africa Series

The Indian ODI squad for the three-match series against South Africa comprises the following players:

  • KL Rahul (C)
  • Sanju Samson (WK)
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad
  • Sai Sudharsan
  • Tilak Varma
  • Rinku Singh
  • Rajat Patidar
  • Washington Sundar
  • Axar Patel
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Mukesh Kumar
  • Avesh Khan
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Deepak Chahar

The Indian team boasts a perfect blend of experienced players and promising youngsters. With KL Rahul leading the side, fans can expect an exciting and fiercely competitive ODI series against South Africa.

As the action unfolds, cricket enthusiasts will be eagerly watching to see how these changes in the Indian squad shape the team’s performance and strategy. The ODI series promises to be a thrilling contest, showcasing the talent and depth of Indian cricket.

Leave a comment